Categories
BCM215

BCM 215 DA Beta Comments

In this blog I am going to comment on 3 student’s beta presentations and give them my feedback, and also reflect on 3 students who also give comments to my beta presentation, and improvements of my digital artefact final. 

First of all I would like to talk about the comment that I gave to 3 students. 

Miki’s blog

The first student that I commented on is Miki’s blog. Her blog is about Detroit: Become Humans. So far I liked what she has done about her works. Her digital artefact will present it as a blog post. I suggested that she make the blog post short and intense because it is easy to read and easy to understand. In my opinion, I am not a fan of reading, so I don’t like long blogs, it is too wordy and it is easy to get lost and lose concentration. In addition, she also mentioned she will make another blog post about the future of AI. I suggested her to look at movies and other gaming that refer to AI and robotics, and also may look at the legislations, because we still don’t know what if the robots or AI have done something wrong and who will take the responsibility, and will they become a threat to humanity in future, these are all unknown in future, and it is quite important to discover it by using this game as an example. On the other hand, I really love what she has done so far, her blog post is so informative and explains lots of details about this game and the theory and meaning behind it. I hope she could continue to produce high quantities of work but with little attention. 

Isabelle’s blog

The second student that I commented on is Isabelle’s blog. So far I don’t see any problem on her digital artefact progress. She has made a clear and informative blog post which is a talk about Mario Kart. As I am a big fan of Mario Kart, I know the experience and excitement to play Mario Kart on different gaming platforms. And she has clearly stated the differences of Mario Kart in different gaming platforms, and these gaming platforms affected players playing and attracted more new players to play Mario Kart. Therefore I am satisfied with what she has done so far. She mentioned her last blog post will talk about the future of Mario Kart. I suggested that she could tell her own prediction and might look at how different technologies could help Mario Kart deliver and bring a whole new experience that we haven’t experienced before. So I am looking forward to seeing her final blog post. 

Leo’s blog

The last student that I commented on is Leo’s blog. His digital artefact is about a football game. Although I played football, I seldom played in real life. So it is quite hard to experience why football is so popular globally. In his digital artefact beta he mentioned he will focus on the bias on Asian football players compared to other countries players. So far I am satisfied with what he has done with his work, with the bias of Asian football players, he mentioned an example of Jeremy Shuhow Lin and other NBA players. I immediately think about other examples of the bias of Asian athletes such as Naomi Osaka, a professional tennis player who was born in Japan and recently won the Australian Open 2021, compared to other countries’ tennis players. This would help us to understand the importance of the bias problem not just happened in football, but also in other sports as well. I think he could mention this in his blog. And I am looking forward to seeing his work in future. 

After what I have commented on 3 student’s blogs, I received comments from 3 other students about my digital artefact. 

Miki’s comment

The first comment that I have received is from Miki. She suggested that my video should add some captains of the main point to let the audience easily understand and may split my video into 2 parts because she said my video is quite long. My digital artefact format is present as a video series and I split my topic into 2 parts, each part will talk about one big point and will add small side points. After what she gave the comment to me I realised may be I have gone through too much, trying to put too much information into one video and as a result it may affect the audience don’t want to watch because of the video length, they might think is too boring and lose concentration and at the end they might not continue watch. Therefore in my second part of my video I will try to split my part smally, this could let me put more information in each small part so the audience could understand more about my topic. I appreciate what she gave the comment on my blog. 

Isabelle’s comment

The second comment that I have received is from Isabelle. She suggested that I should include player reviews and feedback in different gaming platforms because this could let the audience understand the good and bad of the game and look at how they will improve it in future. Additionally, she mentioned that I should switch my point order. The first part of my video will talk about how the gangster culture affects the game and the second part of my video will talk about the playing experience, paratexts and promotional campaigns etc. She thinks I should switch the order. After she gave comments on my blog, I think maybe I should switch the order, to let the audience know the game first and after that can talk about the culture behind the game series, it might be better for the audience to understand the game. In my second part of my video I will include and find more paratexts and promotional campaigns etc to see why the game series is so popular in Asain and to the global world. I appreciate what she gave the comment on my blog. 

Leo’s comment

The third comment that I received is from Leo. He suggested to me that the gangster culture and the game itself are bilateral. The culture influences the game creation and the game enhances the culture to the audience. Therefore when players play the game series they will think this culture represents this country. I think his comments inspire me, letting me think not just one-way, but multi-ways, to state the phenomenon in different angles and perspectives. His comments further helped me to deliver the message accurately. I should investigate the gangster culture and the game itself more deeply, letting audience know the gangster culture deeply. 

Conclusion

To conclude, I hope my comment to 3 student’s digital artefact beta would be useful and helpful, and I cannot wait for them to produce the digital artefact final at the end. And after what 3 other students gaver comments on my beta, I know what I need to improve and include, this would help me more focus on my work research and ensure the quality of work on my digital artefact at the end.                  

One reply on “BCM 215 DA Beta Comments”

Leave a comment